A different view – John Warwood

Over the next few weeks I will be posting Interviews with other photographers I know and admire.

I have conducted these interviews by email and have posed the same three questions to them all. I think you will enjoy reading their replies.

The first up to bat is JOHN WARWOOD

I am a Semi-Pro photographer based in Wythall ( Worcestershire ) and I have been into photography since the early 80`s . When I met my wife ( Her brother is a keen photographer) I had enjoyed photography before …. but her brothers photos  inspired me to want to be able to take photos of the same quality. I tried to do as much photography as possible …. but with a wife, family and the high costs involved with photography at the time , always held me back.

When digital came about, it became much more affordable and so my photography really started to take off. I was always a landscape man until about 18 months ago which is when I joined a photography club ( TipTop ) and they really lit my fire with taking images of people/models etc.. I now just want to spend all my time doing this. This is just something which fascinates me so much.

QUESTION 1 :  ” Why is Photography important to you ? “

Photography is very important to me as it enables me to capture (hopefully forever) the split second that photo was taken. It can show so much, a moment frozen in time. It can show emotions/feelings of what the photographer/person were feeling when the shutter was pressed. I love looking at old photos, it gives such an insight into the past and hopefully one day people will look at my photos the same way.

QUESTION 2 : ” What do you find most challenging about your photography ….. Whats your motivation ? “

What I find challenging about photography is pushing myself every time I use the camera. I want to explore the boundaries as much as possible. I always have the perfect photo in my head of what I want to take and this is what motivates me more. There is always something out of my control stopping me taking the perfect picture but I will endeavour until that moment arises.

QUESTION 3 : ” Name another professional or amateur photographer , who you think we should checkout ? “

Lord Lichfield and David Bailey. Both outstanding photographers. I also look upto Steve and Debs of TipTop as they have taught me so much is such a short time and would like to thank them for that.

My photography mate Paul (Yampy) Hancox (  http://www.flickr.com/photos/yampy/ ) He is always looking for different angles to take photos and often takes photos which I miss.

Many thanks to John for sharing his thoughts and insight into his photography …… If  you`d like to contact or see more of John’s images , here`s some links :

http://www.flickr.com/photos/flickrjrt/

http://twitter.com/#!/FlickrJRT


One thought on “A different view – John Warwood

Leave a Reply

